Blog   |   E-Newsletter   |   Donate
North Carolina EPFP
North Carolina EPFP Coordinators
      North Carolina EPFP Site Sponsoring Organization

Joe Ableidinger (EPFP 14-15)
Senior Director of Policy and Programs
Public School Forum of North Carolina

More about Joe

Jennifer Wilson-Kearse (EPFP 10-11)
Executive Director, NCACHE
Appalachian State University

More about Jennifer

Lauren Hales Bock (EPFP 13-14)
Research Director
Public School Forum of North Carolina

More about Lauren

James Ford (EPFP 14-15)
Program Director
Public School Forum of North Carolina

More about James


Visit North Carolina EPFP's website to apply by July 1 (western counties) or July 31 (central and eastern counties).

Since its inception in 1979, the North Carolina Education Policy Fellowship Program has graduated over 600 Fellows. The program was sponsored by the North Carolina School Boards Association until 1991 when it became affiliated with the Public School Forum of North Carolina.

The NC EPFP site is based in Raleigh, the state capital, which affords the Fellows greater exposure to the diverse policymakers who affect state policy. NC EPFP also welcomes Fellows from the western part of the state through a GEAR UP grant awarded to Appalachian State University. Professionals who live or work in the following counties may apply to EPFP West: Alleghany, Ashe, Burke, Clay, Graham, Madison, Rutherford, Swain, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yancey.

Group Photo of 2010-2011 North Carolina EPFP Fellows

 Front Row (left to right): Stephanie Lemon; Trina Gabriel; Elaine Darby; Christi Chadwick;
Kayla Siler Second Row (left to right): Mark Ezzell; Laura French; Jeni Corn; Betsy Baugess; Jo Ann Pennington; Elissa Brown; Lela Baldwin Third Row (left to right): Kendall Hageman (Co-Coordinator), Emily Jack, Donna Brown; Debbie Daniell; Beverly Vance; Ashley Perry; David Edwards; Jeannette Evans; Donna Roch; Jennifer Facciolini; Jo Ann Norris (Co-Coordinator) Back Row (left to right): Tim Poe;Tim Moore; Stan Wilborne; Martez Hill; Kris Knower; Steve Hill; Todd Lofrese Not Pictured: Doug Atkinson; Lucy Cornelius; Jody Hawley; Mark Otter; Clint Robinson; Jennifer Wilson-Kearse


The cohort is comprised of individuals from the education arena including public schools, higher education, and community colleges, as well as participants from human services, political disciplines, and corporate and nonprofit sectors.  

Fellows focus on technological, fiscal, legislative and administrative issues, as well as on factors affecting children and families.

The program meets regularly from mid-September to mid-May. In this setting, Fellows increase their awareness of how public policy is made, learn who the key players are in the formation of this policy, and become more confident and involved in the policy-making process. For additional information, please visit the North Carolina EPFP website.


Contact Us at 4301 Connecticut Ave, NW, Suite 100 | Washington, DC 20008 | 202-822-8405 |

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal